Sep 13, 2018

How not to share your Window 10 Wi-Fi

Windows 10 has a feature called Wi-Fi Sense that makes it easier for friends and family to get on your encrypted Wi-Fi networks. They don't have to type a password; Microsoft will log them in automatically.

There's a lot of confusion around this feature that makes it sound scarier than it is. For example, it doesn't actually show anyone your Wi-Fi password. Plus, you have a lot of control over how it works, and you can even disable it completely.

To start, people only get logged in automatically if they're a contact in Outlook, Outlook.com/Hotmail, Skype or Facebook, and also running Windows 10 with Wi-Fi Sense enabled. And you can select which services to allow. For example, maybe you don't want your Facebook friends having access.

To do that, go to Network & Internet>>Wi-Fi>>Manage Wi-Fi Settings (only available on computers that support Wi-Fi). Uncheck the services you don't want to allow under "For networks I select, share them with my contacts."

You might have noticed it says "for networks I select." The first time you connect to a Wi-Fi network, Microsoft will ask if you want to share it. Simply say no and Wi-Fi Sense won't log anyone in to that network.