Oct 26, 2018

How to monitor which site is using your camera and microphone

Sites with media functionality, such as video conferencing, can request access to your camera and microphone. In response to this request, you can take the following actions:
  • Allow: This allows the site to access your camera and microphone at this time and a notification will appear confirming that you’ve granted access. If you select Allow on a "http" URL your preference will not be remembered in future visits. If you select Allow on a "https" URL, your preference will be remembered in future visits.
    You can monitor which site is using your camera and microphone by clicking the camera icon camera icon or microphone icon microphone icon in your Windows system tray or Mac status menu.
  • Block: This prevents the site from accessing your camera and microphone. Note: Some sites may not function properly if you block access. For example, you may not be able to join a video conference.
See also: