Sep 19, 2018

Deletion of data at Google most often starts with marking specific data as “scheduled for deletion” rather than actually removing the data entirely.

This allows Google to recover from unintentional deletions, whether customer-initiated or due to a bug or process error internally. After having been marked as "scheduled for deletion," the data is deleted in accordance with service-specific policies.